District Council 37
(212) 815-7555
DC 37    |   PUBLIC EMPLOYEE PRESS    |   ABOUT    |   ORGANIZING    |   NEWSROOM    |   BENEFITS    |   SERVICES    |   CONTRACTS    |   POLITICS    |   CONTACT US    |   SEARCH   |   
  Public Employee Press

PEP Feb 2004
Table of Contents
  La Voz

Public Employee Press

Afflick heads re-energized CBTU


Donald Afflick


The Coalition of Black Trade Unionists’ New York Chapter elected DC 37’s Donald Afflick president Jan. 4. Mr. Afflick is president of MTA Clerical-Administrative Employees Local 1655.

The CBTU, founded in 1972 by AFSCME Secretary Treasurer Bill Lucy and others, is the nation’s oldest and largest independent black labor organization.

Five DC 37 members were also elected to the New York Chapter’s Executive Board: Petrona Graham, treasurer; Carolyn Askew, corresponding secretary; Kevin Smith, financial secretary; Aban Cooper, membership secretary; and Sallie Robertson, sergeant at arms.

Besides the DC 37 members, the CBTU board includes Laura Lewis, 1st vice president; Christopher Wright, 2nd vice president; Charles Matthews, sergeant at arms; and Barbara Moore, recording secretary.

With a new executive board in place, the chapter is looking to energize its membership and move forward as a progressive social and political organization fighting on behalf of African American workers, Mr. Afflick said.

© District Council 37, AFSCME, AFL-CIO | 125 Barclay Street, New York, NY 10007 | Privacy Policy | Sitemap